Rajya Sabha polls: Cong votes rejected as they used wrong pens, says INLD

rajya sabha polls, Haryana, haryana rajya sabha, INLD, Congress, Rajya Sabha elections, Rajya Sabha polls, RS polls, Haryana polls, BJP, India news, Rajya Sabha, elections news, latest news BJP supported candidate for Rajya Sabha, Zee Media Chairman Subhash Chandra and Indian National Lok Dal & Congress supported candidate for Rajya Sabha RK Anand, during polling in Chandigarh on Saturday. (PTI Photo)

Fourteen of Congress’ votes in Rajya Sabha elections in Haryana on Friday were rejected apparently because the MLAs concerned registered their votes with a pen other than the one provided by the Returning Officer, INLD claimed.

However, Congress, which had backed Independent candidate R K Anand who lost the poll, questioned the claim saying how could the MLAs do this when they had to deposit their own pens and mobile phones while entering the Assembly Secretariat for voting.

“This is a wild allegation levelled by INLD,” party leader Kuldeep Sharma said.

Share This Article Related Article

  • Rajya Sabha: Hooda ‘rebellion’ in Haryana ensures defeat for Cong-backed lawyer R K Anand
  • Haryana: 14 Cong votes invalid, Independent candidate Subhash Chandra clinches win
  • Birender Singh, Subhas Chandra win Rajya Sabha seats from Haryana
  • Haryana Congress to back INLD man, who will back Congress in Rajya Sabha
  • Haryana: Congress to back INLD man, who will back Congress in Rajya Sabha
  • Rajya Sabha polls: Still in dilemma, Haryana Cong likely to take decision today

Watch Video: What’s making news

“The pen theory is an allegation being imposed by the INLD,” said another party leader Karan Singh Dalal.

The BJP claimed that Congress’ Randeep Surjewala showed his ballot to CLP leader Kiran Choudhry.

Leader of Opposition in Haryana Assembly and INLD leader Abhay Singh Chautala blamed Congress for the defeat of INLD and Congress backed candidate Anand.

“Congress party’s 14 votes were rejected because they registered their votes with another pen other than the one provided by the Returning Officer to record their votes in the voting compartment,” Chautala claimed.

Anand was defeated by BJP-backed media baron and Independent candidate Subhash Chandra.

The Haryana Assembly has 90…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *