Stop Letting Microsoft Use Your PC for File Sharing

Microsoft is all about Windows Updates lately. Between forcing Windows 10 updates on everyone, and generally doing a lot to make its users mad with the way updates are handled, it seems like we need to spend more time figuring out to fight updates than using our PC.

One place Microsoft is attempting to make Windows Update more streamlined is by having users share their connection with others to speed updating through P2P.

For most users, this isn’t anything they’ll notice or have a problem with, but for anyone with limited Internet where they pay for their bandwidth, it can be a real problem! Fortunately, you can turn it off! Here’s how it’s done.

Settings 2016-05-30 00.04.28

First, head to Settings then Update & Security. From there, go to Windows Update on the left menu, then click Advanced Options under the Update settings area.

Now, under the Updates from more than one place section, turn the toggle to off. Now, when you update, you will not receive updates from other users, nor will you send data for their updates.

How do you feel about Microsoft’s approach to Windows 10? What do you like, what don’t you like? Let us know with a comment down below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *